Workin' With The Miles Davis Quintet

Workin' with the Miles Davis Quintet is an album recorded in 1956 by Miles Davis. Two sessions on the 11th of May 1956 and the 26th of October in the same year resulted in four albums—this one, Relaxin' with the Miles Davis Quintet, Steamin' with the Miles Davis Quintet and Cookin' with the Miles Davis Quintet. Track 2 is a composition written for Davis by Eddie Vinson (see Blue Haze for more details). "Trane's Blues" (also known as "Vierd Blues", a tongue-in-cheek reference to Blue Note founder Francis Wolff's heavily-accented verdict on it), also credited to Davis, is in fact a John Coltrane composition (originally titled "John Paul Jones", and from an earlier session led by bassist Paul Chambers. Before the closing statement of theme, Coltrane and Davis play a bit of Charlie Parker's "The Hymn".On "Half Nelson", Paul Chambers plays the bassline on a cello.


1. It Never Entered My Mind

2. Four

Leider habe ich die Originalnummer des Albums "Workin'" nicht gefunden!

Als Platzhalter habe ich diese Version eingefügt.

Live In New York 1958.5.17 Cafe Bohemia. NCC. Miles Davis [to] , John Coltrane [ts] , Bill Evans [p] , Paul Chambers [b] , Philly Joe Jones [ds].

3. In Your Own Sweet Way

4. The Theme (Take 1)

5. Trane's Blues

6. Ahmad's Blues

7. Half Nelson

8. The Theme (Take 2)